żal – homage to fédéric chopin

for theatres

for booking information: contact@herdegdesponds.ch

with
André Desponds, piano
Andrea Herdeg, dance

'Herdeg’s performance is as much drama as dance. Her grace and expressiveness are as effecting in her moments of stillness as in her virtuoso leaps high above the piano ... Her edgy performance easily holds its own in top-class virtuosity whilst Desponds proves himself as an inspirational interpreter of Chopin. He has an impressive palette of rubati and nuance, and conveys with ease the fragile balance, so specific to Chopin’s work, between improvisation and form, between explosion and restraint.’ Schweizer Musikzeitung

żal – homage to frédéric chopin is a theatrical exploration of the life and works of composer and pianist Frédéric Chopin (1810–1849). A combination of contemporary dance theatre piece and virtuoso concert, żal revolves around the main themes of Chopin’s life; interminable homesickness for Poland, his merciless compositional inspirations, his illnesses, and his fear of an audience. It begins with Chopin’s journey to Paris where he arrives in September 1831. Before long he is considered an insider’s tip; this coughing pianist who drinks milk and looks like a young lady, a sentimental Pole who prefers an unadorned polonaise to all the glamour of Paris. Chopin’s works of genius arise from a profoundly human dynamic; the struggle between feeling a violent revolt against one’s own destiny, whilst also harbouring an inmost devotion towards it. Chopin recognised this feeling of inner-conflict in the Polish word 'żal' and burnt it into his heart and music. 'żal' is a word in which both rebellion and devotion are embodied in one sound.

In żal – homage to frédéric chopin the Chopin figure is split, embodied simultaneously by a pianist (André Desponds) and a dancer (Andrea Herdeg). Visual design by Georg Lendorff weaves in original artworks by Biagio Mastroianni to create a rich setting for the performers. On stage Herdeg and Desponds build a series of sonic and visual images from Chopin’s life which, enriched by Lendorff’s original projections, merge into a complex and exhilarating whole.

żal – homage to frédéric chopin was created in collaboration with director Jean-Martin Moncéro and choreographer Kate Higginbottom. A work in progress was shown at the 2005 Blickfelder Festival in Zürich. The finished work premiered at Theater der Künste Zürich in 2006 and has been touring ever since. It has played at venues including: Kaserne Basel, Theater Casino Zug, Théâtre du Passage Neuchâtel, Theater Winterthur, Teatro Dimitri Verscio.

żal – hommage an fédéric chopin

für theater

für Anfragen: kontakt@herdegdesponds.ch

mit
André Desponds, Klavier
Andrea Herdeg, Tanz

‚Herdeg’s Performance ist mindestens so sehr Schauspiel wie Tanz. Ihre Anmut und Ausdruckskraft wirkt in der Bewegungslosigkeit genau so stark wie bei den verrücktesten Sprüngen hoch über dem Flügel... Wie ihre Performance für sich allein eine hochkarätige Darbietung ist, so erweist sich André Desponds als begeisternder Chopin-Interpret. Er verfügt über eine beeindruckende Palette von Rubati und Anschlagsnuancen, und es gelingt ihm auch, jene bei Chopin so fragile Balance zwischen Improvisation und Konstruktion, zwischen Ausbruch und Verhaltenheit herzustellen.’Schweizer Musikzeitung

żal – hommage an frédéric chopin ist eine tanz-theatralische Forschungsreise durch das Leben und Werk des Komponisten und Pianisten Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849). In einer Mischung aus zeitgenössischem Tanztheater und Klavier-Rezital werden die grossen Themen in Chopins Leben umkreist: Sein unstillbares Heimweh nach Polen, die Gewalt seiner kompositorischen Inspiration, seine Krankheit, seine Publikumsscheu. Der Abend beginnt mit Chopins Reise nach Paris, wo er im September 1831 ankommt. Bald schon wird der hustende, milchtrinkende  Pianist, der aussieht wie ein junges Mädchen und dem eine schlichte Polonaise weit mehr bedeutet als aller Pariser Chic, in der Glitzerstadt als Geheimtipp gehandelt. Trotz krankmachendem Heimweh, kann Chopin nicht nach Polen zurück, und so schüttet er all seinen Schmerz mit herrlicher Wucht übers Klavier und in Töne. Chopins genialisches Schaffen entspringt einem zutiefst menschlichen, ja archetypischen Konflikt: dem Konflikt zwischen rebellischer Auflehnung und  gleichzeitiger tiefer Ergebenheit dem eigenen Schicksal gegenüber. Genau diese Zerrissenheit drückt das Polnische Wort ‚żal’ aus und Chopin brannte sich dieses Wort ins Herz und er brannte es in seine Musik. ‚żal’: Rebellion und Hingabe im Klang eines einzigen Wortes, einer einzelnen Silbe.

In żal – hommage an frédéric chopin teilen sich der Pianist André Desponds und die Tänzerin Andrea Herdeg die Darstellung Frédéric Chopins und verflechten sie mit projizierten Bildfolgen und Texten zu einem vielschichtigen, bunten Ganzen, das Chopins Leben umfasst und sich davor verneigt. Den Bühnenraum hat der Videokünstler Georg Lendorff unter Verwendung von Originalkunstwerken von Biagio Mastroianni gestaltet.

Eine frühe work in progress-Version von żal – hommage an frédéric chopin, die in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Regisseur Jean-Martin Moncéro und der Choreographin Kate Higginbottom entstanden war, wurde im Rahmen des Blickfelder Festivals 2005 in Zürich gezeigt. Die eigentliche Premiere fand 2006 im Theater an der Sihl statt und zog eine Reihe von Gastspielen nach sich. Bis Dato wurde żal – hommage an frédéric chopin unter anderem an der Kaserne Basel, dem Theater Casino Zug, Dem Théâtre du Passage Neuchâtel, dem Theater Winterthur und dem Teatro Dimitri in Verscio gezeigt.