Andrea Herdeg

Dancer and choreographer Andrea Herdeg is based in Zürich and Locarno. Her professional background includes both dance and theatre. She trained at Accademia Teatro Dimitri (Switzerland) and the Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance London (UK). Since 1999 she has danced with many companies in England, Italy, Germany and Switzerland. In 2003 she founded the company herdeg&desponds (Zürich) with pianist Andre Desponds, creating highly accomplished performances that blend music, dance and theatre, to great critical acclaim. Andrea Herdeg is frequently invited to choreograph for dance and for theatre. She is a guest teacher at the Zürcher Hochschule der KünsteZHdK and is a longstanding member of the teaching faculty (dance) at Accademia Teatro Dimitri Verscio. She is winner of the choreography prize at the Rome Theatre Festival 2009.

André Desponds

Concert pianist André Desponds was admitted at the age of 16 to the Musikhochschule Zürich where he studied under Sava Savoff. He is renowned for his interpretations of Chopin, Schubert and Gershwin, and is a highly respected jazz improviser and silent film pianist. Desponds has performed all over the world, including the Gasteig Munich, the St. Petersburg Philharmonia, the Concertgebouw Amsterdam and the UN Headquarters in New York. He is a founding member of the Gershwin Piano Quartet (1996). Desponds has recorded widely, plays frequently for radio and television, and is a composer in his own right, specialising in theatre, ballet and film scores. As an accompanist he frequently collaborates with noted artists (soprano Noëmi Nadelmann, vibraphonist Thomas Dobler, and violinist Melina Mandozzi). André Desponds is a professor of improvisation and of chamber music at the Zürcher Hochschule der Künste ZHdK.

collaborators

herdeg&desponds frequently create work in collaboration with other artists in the fields of dance, music and theatre, with whom they have a long-term artistic relationship.

Jean-Martin Moncéro, director

Trained as actor at the École Romande d’Art Dramatique in Lausanne, Switzerland. Having performed with numerous companies in the French-speaking part of Switzerland, Jean-Martin Moncéro turned towards new methods of acting training using improvisation which is directly linked to theatrical creation. For many years he has applied the results of his research in a particular teaching method, above all at the Accademia Teatro Dimitri (SUPSI) in Verscio where he was Director for ten years. The main focus of his work is directing contemporary plays.

Juliana Moraes, choreographer

Juliana Moraes (Brazil) studied classical and contemporary dance at the University of Campinas. In 1998 she received a scholarship to continue her studies at the Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance London (UK) where she graduated with a Masters in Dance Studies. During this period Moraes danced with various companies in England and Switzerland. Back in Brazil she has created and danced many solo projects with which she was invited to perform at renowned dance festivals in Brazil. Her productions have received many awards. Moraes teaches at the Centro Universitario Belas Artes in São Paulo and and has a Ph.D. in dance studies and choreography.

Georg Lendorff, film maker

Georg Lendorff (Zurich) studied Graphic Design at the former HGKZ (now Zurich University of the Arts ZHdK) and Film Direction at the London College of Communication (LCC) (formerly the London College of Printing). Lendorff is a filmmaker in Zurich and creates visuals for theatre and opera. With his innovative work he researches and extends the possibilities of video projections on stage. He produced acclaimed works for the Burgtheater in Vienna, the Salzburger Festspiele, the Staatsoper Stuttgart and the Schauspielhaus Zurich, among others. His has been invited to present his work as part of numerous festivals including the Solothurner Filmtage, the Seoul Short Film Festival and Cinetexas.

Melina Mandozzi, violinist

Melina Mandozzi was born in Locarno to a family of musicians. She received her first violin lesson at the age of four and by the age of ten studied at the Yehudi Menuhin School in London. She later studied in the virtuoso class of Professor Zakhar Bron at the Musikhochschule Lübeck, and then as a postgraduate with Professor Boris Kuschnir for two years in Graz. She has won many awards and prizes at international violin contests, won a three year long scholarship of the Migros-Genossenschaft and the Orpheus-Konzerte adv anement award. When she was twelve years old she gave her debut at the Royal Festival Hall together with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and has been giving concerts ever since throughout Europe, the United States, South America and Japan. Currently Mandozzi is concertmaster at the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra.

Florian Albin, dancer and actor

Florian Albin, born in the French Castres, began his career at seven years old in the show Les innocentines by René de Obaldia. In 2007 he entered ATREE, the Association Théâtrale de Recherche et d’Etude in Agen. After graduation Florian created his first solo production for the 16th theatre festival in Agen. In 2010 he entered the Accademia Teatro Dimitri (SUPSI) where he trained intensively in dance, acrobatics, mime and mask and graduated with a Bachelor in Physical Theatre. He was engaged by the Landestheater Innsbruck in Don Pasquale (G. Donizetti) directed by Stephan Tilch and tours in France with the monologue Ein Kind unserer Zeit (Odön Von Horvat) directed by Gilles Guérin. Florian Albin is a certified stunt man (Campus Univers Cascades, France) and lives and works as a freelance artist in Brussels.

Rudolf Jost, costume designer

Rudolf Jost was born and raised in the canton of Berne. After training as a men's tailor and fashion designer, he worked for five years as set design assistant and as costume designer at the Schauspielhaus in Zurich. Since 1996 Jost works internationally as costume designer for theatre, opera and film. Among other places he works for Theater Neumarkt in Zurich, Theatre Lucerne, Schauspielhaus Bochum, Salzburger Festspiele and Staatstheater Maribor. For several years now Jost has also worked for various independent theatre companies in Switzerland. Jost designed Swiss films Cargo and Mary's Ride.

Olivia Higginbottom, choreographer

British-born Olivia is a performer, choreographer and director. She studied at Cambridge University, Ecole de Théâtre Jaques Lecoq Paris, Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance London and at the European Dance Development Centre in Holland. Companies worked with include Theatre O, Complicite, Nicole & Martin, Creation Theatre, Adverse Camber, English National Opera, Vanessa Cook and herdeg&desponds. Her film credits include The Libertine and Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.

Biagio Mastroianni, fine artist

Biagio Mastroianni studied visual communication at the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts. He works as an illustrator, painter and print maker in Lucerne and London. His paintings, drawings and prints are shown in exhibitions in London, New York, Italy, Norway and Switzerland. Mastroianni illustrates for publications such as Horizon, Naked Punch Magazine London, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, Weltwoche and for the Swiss Red Cross. He teaches at the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts.

Adrian Schulthess, dancer and actor

text follows

Franziska Born, costume designer

Franziska Born studied textile design at the former HGKZ (now Zurich University of the Arts ZHdK). She has created her own works (costume, fashion and interior design) under the label Heimli Feiss since 1998. In 2000 she was co-initiator of Ping Pong, an interdisciplinary fashion-textile-graphics-project. Born has taught embroidery design since 2005 at the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts. She has designed and created costumes for herdge&desponds, the Lucerne Theatre and Zimmermann & de Perrot.

Daniel Kayser, dramaturg

Daniel Kayser (Switzerland) trained as theatre director at universities in Berlin and London. From 1991-2005 he staged several plays, notably in dance theatre, in Switzerland, Germany and London and wrote numerous plays. Since 2005 Kayser has been working as a freelance (theatre) author and advisor on artistic projects.

Christoph Siegenthaler, lighting designer

text follows

Stefan Marti, lighting designer

Since 2004 Stefan Marti has focussed on chiaroscuro and spacial rhythm lighting concepts for theatre and dance as well as for architecture and art installation. Next to his lighting design he also offers technical tour support, stage set up and technical direction for smartlight lighting design. Marti is also founding member of the theatre company entre chien et loup in which he continues his theatrical focus on stage. He has worked as technical co-director at the Theater Winkelwiese (Zurich), for the international Opern-Werkstatt at the Kulturschloss Werdenberg and has accompanied many productions at the Theater am Kirchplatz in Schaan, Switzerland.

Sophia Murer, graphic designer

text follows

Thomas Dobler, vibraphonist

Thomas Dobler studied at the music schools of Zurich, Strasbourg and Paris, where he specialised in playing with four sticks. He is widely recognised as one of the most virtuouso vibraphonists in Europe. Walking the line between Jazz and Classical, he has made many recordings, on CD, radio and film. As a soloist Dobler has appeared with the Orchester Musikkollegium Winterthur, the Camerata Bern and the Symphonisches Orchester Zürich. He tours internationally including appearances at the Menuhin Festival Gstaad, BBC Proms London, Ravenna Festival and the Lucerne Festival. In 1998 he won the international CHAIN competition for interpreting contemporary music. He also gives recitals with the pianist André Desponds and has performed many world premieres of contemporary oeuvres as a chamber musician. Thomas Dobler teachers at the Conservatoire HEM de Lausanne (département jazz) and the Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK).

Cristina Achermann, management

Spanish and German Studies in Zurich. Pro Helvetia programme director for Central and Eastern Europe, and of the cultural programme for Southeastern Europe and the Ukraine for many years. Initiator and organiser of the theatre markets in Prague and Crakow, and of the 'Centrelyuropdriims – cultural scenes in Poland, Slowakia, Czechia, Hungary' series. Since 2005 project manager of various national and international cultural projects and production manager for Swiss theatre and dance companies.

Andrea Herdeg

Die Tänzerin und Choreographin Andera Herdeg lebt und arbeitet in Zürich und Locarno. Ihr beruflicher Hintergrund umfasst Tanz wie auch Theater. Seit ihrer Ausbildung an der Accademia Teatro Dimitri (Schweiz) und am Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance London (England) arbeitet sie als freischaffende Künstlerin im Bereich des zeitgenössischen Tanzes und des Tanztheaters. Gemeinsam mit dem Pianisten André Desponds hat sie die Compagnie herdeg&desponds (Zürich) gegründet, mit welcher sie seit 2003 Projekte realisiert, welche Musik, Tanz und Theater vereinen. In ihrer Tätigkeit als Tänzerin hat sie für Ensembles in England, Italien, Deutschland und in der Schweiz gearbeitet. Andrea Herdeg arbeitet als Choreographin für Theater-Produktionen, unterrichtet als Gast-Dozentin an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste ZHdK und ist Mitglied des Lehrkollegiums der Accademia Teatro Dimitri. Choreographiepreis des Roma Teatro Festivals 2009.

André Desponds

Der Konzertpianist André Desponds wurde er 16-jährig an die Musikhochschule Zürich aufgenommen, wo er bei Sava Savoff studierte. Desponds ist bekannt für seine Interpretationen von Chopin, Schubert und Gershwin sowie als Jazz-Improvisator und Stummfilmbegleiter. Er verfügt über eine breite Auftrittserfahrung in grossen Konzertsälen und an Festivals in Europa, USA, Brasilien und China, wie zum Beispiel am Gasteig München, der Philharmonie St. Petersburg, dem Concertgebouw Amsterdam und dem UNO Hauptsitz in New York. Er ist Gründungsmitglied des Gershwin Piano Quartet (1996). Daneben arbeitet er als Pianist für CD-, Radio- und TV-Produktionen, sowie als Theater- und Filmkomponist. Mit Künstlerpersönlichkeiten wie der Sopranistin Noëmi Nadelmann, dem Vibraphonisten Thomas Dobler und der Geigerin Melina Mandozzi verbindet ihn eine langjährige musikalische Zusammenarbeit. André Desponds doziert an ZHdK Zürcher Hochschule der Künste Improvisation und Kammermusik.

collaborators

Mit folgenden Künstlerinnen und Künstlern pflegen herdeg&desponds eine immer wieder fruchtbare Arbeitsbeziehung

Jean-Martin Moncéro, Regie

Zum Schauspieler ausgebildet an der Ecole Romande d’Art Dramatique in Lausanne, hat sich Jean-Martin Moncéro, nachdem er in verschiedenen Truppen der französischen Schweiz gespielt hat, neuen Methoden des Schauspielertrainings gewidmet, unter Anwendung von eigenen Improvisationstechniken, welche an die theatralische Kreation gebunden sind. Seit mehreren Jahren wendet er die Ergebnisse seiner Forschung in einer besonderen Unterrichtsform an, vor allem an der Accademia Teatro Dimitri (SUPSI) in Verscio, einer Schule, die er auch während zehn Jahren geleitet hat. Einen Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeit bildet die Regie von neu erschaffenen Stücken.

Juliana Moraes, Choreographie

Die Brasilianerin Juliana Moraes studierte an der Universidade Estadual de Campinas (UNICAMP), São Paulo, klassischen und zeitgenössischen Tanz. 1998 erhielt sie ein Stipendium, um sich am Laban Centre for Dance in London weiterzubilden. Sie schloss mit einem MA in Dance Studies ab. Gleichzeitig tanzte Moraes für verschiedene Companies in England und in der Schweiz. Zurück in Brasilien choreographiert sie verschiedene Solostücke, mit denen sie an diverse renommierte Tanzfestivals in Brasilien eingeladen wurde. Ihre Arbeit wird vom National Ministry of Culture unterstützt und mit mehreren Preisen ausgezeichnet. Juliana Moraes unterrichtet am Centro Universitario Belas Artes in São Paulo und arbeitet gegenwärtig an ihrem PhD in Dance Studies und Choreography.

Georg Lendorff, Video

Der Zürcher Georg Lendorff studierte an der HGKZ Hochschule für Kunst und Gestaltung in Zürich Grafik Design und bildete sich am London College of Printing in Filmregie weiter. Lendorff lebt als freier Filmemacher und Filmregisseur in Zürich und kreiert Visuals für Theater und Oper. Mit seinen innovativen Arbeiten erforscht und erweitert er die Möglichkeiten von Videoprojektionen auf der Bühne. Entstanden sind gefeierte Arbeiten u.a. für das Burgtheater Wien, die Salzburger Festspiele, die Staatsoper Stuttgart und das Schauspielhaus Zürich. Seine Arbeiten wurden an zahlreiche Festivals eingeladen u.a. Solothurner Filmtage, Seoul Short Film Festival, Cinetexas.

Melina Mandozzi, Violine

Melina Mandozzi stammt aus einer Locarneser Musikerfamilie. Den ersten Violinunterricht erhielt sie im Alter von vier Jahren, als Zehnjährige besuchte sie die Yehudi Menuhin School in London. Als zwölfjährige debütierte sie an der Royal Festival Hall mit dem Royal Philarmonic Orchestra. Es folgte ein Studium in der Virtuosenklasse von Professor Zakhar Bron an der Musikhochschule Lübeck und anschliessend ein postgraduate Kurs bei Professor Boris Kuschnir in Graz. Sie erhielt diverse Auszeichnungen und Preise bei internationalen Violinwettbewerben, gewann ein dreijähriges Stipendium (Migros Kulturprozent) und den Förderpreis Orpheus-Konzerte. Seitdem konzertiert sie in verschiedenen Ländern Europas, in der USA, in Südamerika und in Japan. Melina Mandozzi ist zurzeit Konzertmeisterin an der Philharmonic Orchestra In Bergen.

Florian Albin, Tänzer und Schauspieler

Florian Albin, im französischen Castres geboren, betritt bereits als siebenjähriger bei ‚Les innocentines’ von René de Obaldia die Theaterwelt. Ab 2007 besucht er die ATREE, die Association Théâtrale de Recherche et d’Etude in Agen. Nach Abschluss seines Studiums 2010 kreiert er sein erstes Solo-Stück für das 16. Theaterfestival in Agen. Anschliessend wird er für eine dreijährige Ausbildung an der Scuola Teatro Dimitri in Verscio. aufgenommen, wo er sich in Tanz und Bewegungstheater, Akrobatik und Pantomime ausbildet. Eine erste beeindruckende Darstellung seines Könnens war am vergangenen Theater Spektakel Zürich 2013 im Rahmen vom Zentral-Programm auf der Landiwiese zu sehen. Zur Zeit lebt und arbeitet Florian Albin in Bruxelles.

Rudolf Jost, Kostüme

Rudolf Jost ist im Kanton Bern geboren und aufgewachsen. Nach einer Ausbildung zum Herrenschneider und Modedesigner, folgten fünf Jahre als Kostümbildassistent und Kostümbildner am Schauspielhaus in Zürich. Seit 1996 ist Jost als freischaffender Kostümbildner für Schauspiel, Oper und Film im In- und Ausland tätig. Er arbeitete unter anderem am Theater Neumarkt in Zürich, am Luzerner Theater, am Schauspielhaus Bochum, an den Salzburger Festspielen und am Staatstheater Maribor. Jost ist seit vielen Jahren auch als Kostümbildner in der freien Schweizer Theaterszene präsent und war verantwortlich für das Kostümbild vom Science Fiction Spielfilm Cargo oder vom Spielfilm Mary's Ride.

Olivia Higginbottom, Choreographie

Die Britin Olivia Higginbottom ist Performerin, Choreographin und Regisseurin. Higginbottom studierte an der Cambridge University, der Ecole de Théâtre Jaques Lecoq Paris, dem Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Musik and Dance London und am European Dance Development Center in Holland. Zu den Companies, mit denen sie arbeitete, gehören u.a. das Theater O, Complicite, Nicole&Martin, Creation Theatre, Adverse Camber, English National Opera, Vanessa Cook und herdeg&desponds. Ihr Name findet sich auch im Abspann von Filmen wie The Libertine und Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.

Biagio Mastroianni, Illustrator und Maler

Biagio Mastroianni studierte Visuelle Kommunikation an der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst in Luzern. Er arbeitet als Illustrator, Maler und Printmaker in Luzern und London; seine Bilder, Zeichnungen und Druckgraphik zeigt er in Ausstellungen in London, New York, Italien, Norwegen und der Schweiz und er illustrierte u.a. für Horizon und Naked Punch Magazine London, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, Weltwoche und für das Schweizerische Rote Kreuz. Er unterrichtet an der HGK Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst in Luzern.

Adrian Schulthess, Tänzer und Schauspieler

Text folgt

Franziska Born, Kostüme

Franziska Born studierte Textildesign an der HGKZ Hochschule für Kunst und Gestaltung in Zürich. Seit 1998 kreiert sie unter dem Label Heimli Feiss ihre eigenen Arbeiten (Kostüm, Mode und Innendekoration). Im Jahr 2000 wurde sie Mitintitantin von Ping Pong, einem interdisziplinären Mode- Textil-Grafik-Projekt. Seit 2005 ist Born zudem Dozentin für Stickereientwurf an der Hochschule Luzern (Design&Kunst). Kostüme hat sie u.a. für das Luzerner Theater und Zimmermann&de Perrot entworfen und ausgeführt.

Daniel Kayser, Dramaturgie

Daniel Kayser ist in Luzern geboren und liess sich in Berlin und London zum Theaterregisseur ausbilden. Zwischen 1991 und 2005 inszenierte er zahlreiche Tanztheater-Projekte in der Schweiz, in Deutschland und in London und verfasste Tanztheater-Stücke. Seit 2005 ist Kayser freischaffender Theater-Autor und arbeitet als Mentor für diverse künstlerische Projekte.

Christoph Siegenthaler, Licht und Technik

Text folgt

Stefan Marti, Licht und Technik

Stefan Marti beschäftigt sich seit 2004 intensiv mit helldunkel-raumrythmischen Lichtkonzepten im Theater/Tanz- und Architektur/Installations- Bereich. Neben der Erarbeitung von Lichtkonzepten und deren Umsetzung, bietet er auch auch Tourbetreuungen, Bühnenbau und technische Leitungen von smartlight lichtdesign an. Zudem ist Marti Mitbegründer der Theatergruppe entre chien et loup, mit der er sich auch auf der Bühne mit Theater auseinandersetzt. Er arbeitete unter anderem als technischer CO-Leiter am Theater Winkelwiese (Zürich), für die ‚Internationale Opern Werkstatt‘ im Kulturschloss Werdenberg und begleitete diverse Produktionen am Theater am Kirchplatz (Schaan).

Sophia Murer, Graphik

Text folgt

Thomas Dobler, Vibraphon

Thomas Dobler studierte an den Musikhochschulen von Zürich, Strasbourg und Paris und spezialisierte sich auf das Spiel mit vier Schlegeln und zählt heute zu den virtuosesten Vibraphonisten Europas. Als Grenzgänger zwischen Jazz und Klassik spielte er zahlreiche CD-, Radio- und Filmaufnahmen ein und verfügt über eine reichhaltige Konzerterfahrung im In- und Ausland. Er spielte an verschiedenen renommierten Festivals wie dem Menuhin Festival Gstaad, BBC Proms London, Ravenna Festival, Lucerne Festival etc. 1998 gewann er den internationalen CHAIN-Wettbewerb für Interpretation zeitgenössischer Musik. Als Solist spielte er unter anderem mit dem Orchester Musikkollegium Winterthur, der Camerata Bern und dem Symphonischen Orchester Zürich sowie Rezitale mit dem Pianisten André Desponds und brachte als Kammermusiker zahlreiche zeitgenössische Werke zur Uraufführung. Thomas Dobler ist Dozent am Conservatoire HEM de Lausanne (département jazz) sowie an der ZHdK Zürcher Hochschule der Künste.

Cristina Achermann, Management

Studium der Hispanistik und Germanistik in Zürich. Langjährige Programmverantwortliche für Mittelosteuropa und für das Kulturprogramm Südosteuropa und Ukraine von Pro Helvetia. Initiatorin und Umsetzerin der Theaterbörsen in Prag und Krakau sowie der Veranstaltungsreihe 'Centrelyuropdriims – Kulturszenen Polen, Slowakei, Tschechien, Ungarn'. Seit 2005 Projektleiterin diverser Kulturprojekte im In- und Ausland und Produktionsleiterin für Schweizer Theater- und Tanzgruppen.